Advanced HTTP operations in Flex outside of AIR

I am currently pretty deep into a Flex/AS3 RIA desktop app project whereby I have several advanced needs. Such as to download partial files to the desktop (byte-range requests), execute HEAD requests to get remote file sizes, execute multipart POSTs, talk to some REST apis, and finally be able to read any write HTTP headers….. outside of AIR? Good luck with URLStream, URLRequest, URLRequestMethod and URLRequestHeader

Due to security sandbox restrictions, unless your application is running within Adobe AIR you are restricted to simple GETs and POSTs. You are also NOT allowed to touch the following headers:

Accept-Charset, Accept-Encoding, Accept-Ranges, Age, Allow, Allowed, Authorization, Charge-To, Connect, Connection, Content-Length, Content-Location, Content-Range, Cookie, Date, Delete, ETag, Expect, Get, Head, Host, Keep-Alive, Last-Modified, Location, Max-Forwards, Options, Origin, Post, Proxy-Authenticate, Proxy-Authorization, Proxy-Connection, Public, Put, Range, Referer, Request-Range, Retry-After, Server, TE, Trace, Trailer, Transfer-Encoding, Upgrade, URI, User-Agent, Vary, Via, Warning, WWW-Authenticate, x-flash-version.

That’s basically all of the ones I needed to touch…..so what to do? In my case I was developing some file management functionality that runs in both Adobe AIR as well as MDM Zinc. Amongst other protocols such as FTP, I needed to be able to pull file updates over HTTP as well (+authentication, HEAD checks etc). So I had to create an generic IHttpClient interface abstraction which then allowed me to implement runtime specific clients. So for the AIR side of things I was good to go by using all of Adobe’s URL* classes right out of the box and they work great for the AirHttpClient implementation of my interface. However for my Zinc client I was still stuck, until I ran across a fantastic little HTTP library out there that provides a custom HTTP library built on top of the Flex socket stack.

The AS3 library that ended up being used in my ZincHttpClient was: as3httpclientlib. as3httpclientlib solved all of my problems when running outside of the AIR environment. With as3httpclientlib you can do all of the following and more:

* GET, HEAD, PUT, POST, DELETE
* multipart/form-data (PUT and POST)
* HTTPS support using AS3Crypto TLS
* Post with application/x-www-form-urlencoded
* Reading chunked (Transfer-Encoding)

If you have the need to access a bit more advanced HTTP functionality and need to do it outside of the AIR runtime. I HIGHLY recommend as3httpclientlib. I have put this library through the works doing byte range requests, HEAD requests, header manipulation and downloading and posting all sorts of file sizes, the library works great. My only note is that it is a tad slower than URLStream based HTTP downloads under Adobe AIR, regardless, this little HTTP library is worth it. Kudos to the AS3HttpClientLib team!

One comment

  1. Pingback: Easy Multipart file uploads / POSTs using URLStream or AS3HttpClientLib « bits.of.info

Leave a Reply

