Astyanax -> Cassandra PoolTimeoutException during Authentication failure?

Recently I was working on implementing a custom IAuthenticator and IAuthority for Cassandra 1.1.1 because really there is not much/any security out of the box. For those of you familiar with Cassandra, its distribution used to include a simple property file based implementation of the IAuthentication and IAuthority that you could reference in your cassandra.yaml file however they removed them from the main distribution and placed them under the examples/ section due to weak security concerns. They are a decent starting point to reference when building your own implementations however they are not recommended for real production use; hence why I started to implement my own.

Doing this, I came across a situation trying to use the Netflix Astyanax client API to talk to Cassandra, while Cassandra was running with th custom IAuthenticator and IAuthorities that I made. When testing the initializations of connections to Cassandra, while specifying invalid credentials (intentionally) instead of seeing some sort of AuthenticationException dumped to my client Astyanax log file, I was getting “PoolTimeoutException“s instead…. which was odd. I scratched my head on this for a while as I cloned Astyanax from GitHub and began digging into the source. I suspected that the Thrift AuthenticationException might  be supressed somewhere…. well after reading the source, I realized it wasn’t being suppressed per-say, but rather sent to Astyanax’s ConnectionPoolMonitor, which is something you can configure programatically when you are defining your client code’s AstyanaxContext object which manages all connectivity to Cassandra. Out of the box Astyanax ships with a few ConnectionPoolMonitor implementations, one is the CountingConnectionPoolMonitor (does no logging, just collects stats) and the second is the Slf4jConnectionPoolMonitorImpl (logs to SLF4J). Depending on which one you specify in your context’s configuration you may or may not see AuthenticationException information in your client’s logs/console.

In my case, I was specifying the CountingConnectionPoolMonitor which was receiving the AuthenticationException, but not doing anything with it other than incrementing some counter, effectivly hiding it from me. The pool ran out of connections (could not create any) and the code waiting on getting a connection just threw a PoolTimeoutException, adding to my confusion.

To correct this, as I was using Log4J, I just created a custom ConnectionPoolMonitor which logged everything to Log4J instead. (@see Astyanax’s SLF4J monitor implementation as an example for how to create one for Log4j) See below for how to specify the monitor. Creating your own ConnectionPoolMonitor implementation is easy and pretty self explanatory.

Below is an example of setting up an AstyanaxContext and how you specify the ConnectionPoolMonitor that should be used. Once I used the correct monitor for my needs, I was able to see the true source of the PoolTimeoutExceptions (i.e. the AuthenticationExceptions) because now my monitor was logging them. (NOTE: the example below is just a test context, not something for a robust setup)


AstyanaxContext context = new AstyanaxContext.Builder()
 .forCluster(clusterName)
 .forKeyspace(keyspaceName)
 .withAstyanaxConfiguration(new AstyanaxConfigurationImpl()
 .setDiscoveryType(NodeDiscoveryType.NONE)
 )

.withConnectionPoolConfiguration(new ConnectionPoolConfigurationImpl(clusterName+"-"+keyspaceName+"_CONN_POOL")
 .setPort(defaultConnectionPoolHostPort)
 .setInitConnsPerHost(1)
 .setMaxConnsPerHost(2)
 .setSeeds(connectionPoolSeedHosts)
 .setAuthenticationCredentials(
 new SimpleAuthenticationCredentials(new String(principal), new String(credentials)))
 )
 .withConnectionPoolMonitor(new Log4jConnPoolMonitor())
 .buildKeyspace(ThriftFamilyFactory.getInstance());

context.start();

Leave a Reply

